Parental Units

I recently watched a film in which a mother and father switched traditional roles. Since the father had been out of work for quite some time, he cared for the youngest child while the others were in school and the mom was at work. The baby’s first word was “Fahme” in reference to a father mommy and the mother seemed heartbroken to hear it wasn’t mommy; yet, at the same time she was excited at the prospect of taking on more responsibilities at work. I couldn’t help but feel sad for this mother, however, I felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude that I was able to be home for my baby’s first words. I realize that it is not always possible to have an ideal home-life, but when it comes to parental roles, I believe that the happiest parents are those who are as involved in their children’s lives as possible.

“There is no greater honor, no more elevated title, and no more important role in this life than that of mother or father.”–Bonnie L. Oscarson 1

I hope to be able to teach my children the importance of being good parents. I agree completely with Oscarson’s daughter Abby when she said, “I feel like it could be easy in this world for a child to get the sense that being a parent is a secondary job or even sometimes a necessary inconvenience. I want every child to feel like they are the most important priority to their parent.” I don’t want to be like the conflicted mother in the film, I want my children to know they are a priority in my life. I know as I follow the principles found in the The Family Proclamation 2(to which Oscarson refers in the full scripts referred to below) that my children will come to know this for themselves.
1-https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2015/04/defenders-of-the-family-proclamation?lang=eng
2-https://www.lds.org/topics/family-proclamation?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

